The Rollercoaster that is Writing

I’ve always known that writing is an art, it takes dedication, long hours, and tons of concentration to make the words flow on the page. I’ve done articles in the newspaper and magazines, short stories and even dabbled in some poetry with modest success (that is, gotten published or honorably mentioned).

Novel writing though, that’s something I’ve found to be even harder than anything else I’ve come across. It’s also crazy intense, tons of effort, and much more draining than I ever thought it would be.

I have stayed up all night typing madly on my keyboard only to cup/paste most of what I’ve written to use for notes but not in the actual body of work. I’ve erases whole paragraphs just because I couldn’t get the subtle interactions correct. I’ve not been able to create a summery because I don’t have the whole plot-line thought up and have been so aggravated that I took a day to figure at least a tagline out. I’ve even woken up in the middle of the night with the answer swimming in my mind, thrashing to get out, because the last thought I had before falling asleep was “which brother was the pilot again?”

It’s also probably the most fun I’ve had with my writing in the past year.

That said, however, I recently found out taking a break from novel writing is a good thing. This past week my family and I went to the local state fair, located in Palmer. For four whole days I didn’t write a single paragraph in either my chapter five (my most recent one) or any of my little forays that will become a larger chapter. I did muse about a new character and I had to think up a tagline but for the most part there was no actual ‘typing madly away’ involved. I call that a successful break.

It was good to get away for a bit, to do something different and change gears for a while. I ended up writing some poetry… and for some good measure here’s two senryus I jotted down. (For those of you who don’t know, a senryu is a Japanese form of poetry and is similar to a haiku – short, sweet and to the point – but it’s different because the senryu does not have the 5-7-5 count, is usually talking directly about human nature and is humorous.)


I do not push my cat

away, as she sleeps

on my pillow.


Looking for my glasses

oh! Silly me,

they rest gently on my head.


Next weekend is the writers conference hosted by the Writers Guild (here’s a link if you want to see what I’m going to)! Expect more posts than usual!

I’m going to add some new things to my (Non-fiction) and (Poetry) pages so be sure to click the links provided and check it out!



Warmest regards,

Kellie

4 thoughts on “The Rollercoaster that is Writing

  1. Dear Kellie,

    I love that you took a break from your writing, sometimes it truly is the best thing to leave something to simmer on the stove while you do something else.

    I can’t wait to hear about your writers conference and i hope you enjoy!

    Kim

    • Kim,

      Taking a break was definitely a good thing. It allowed me to think about the story as a whole, the various characters and even create new ones… without the added “stress” of actually writing.

      Oh, I am super excited about the conference, it’s my first one so hopefully it’ll be a good time. I can’t wait to share it!

      ~ Kellie

  2. I really admire your committment in tackling a novel. Short stories are challenging enough, can only imagine the focus and overall work a nove must take. Nice senryus!

    • Thank-you, it’s been hard work but it’s been worth it too. I’ve been growing as a writer. Shorts are challenging in their own ways, getting enough information for the story to make sense but not too much to overload the readers, putting a whole plot-line out there in only 10-15 pages… it’s a skill in it’s own right. A novel is just… well… longer. Ha! There’s a bit more to a novel but the overall concept is the same. Write a good plot-line, include interesting characters, create a world all your own. Essentially, write a good story.

      Aww, thank-you! The senryus were a little exercise I did to keep my mind active one day, they were fun! Have you ever written one?

Leave a Reply

