Time to Revamp (Another Random Wednesday Post)

I recently had an epiphany concerning this blog and my fellow writers. How are they supposed to find me? I had a creative writing meeting with some new writers, we were talking about different writing platforms and the conversation drifted to blogs, I mentioned I had a blog and – poof – the name Snowed in Scribe was dropped onto the table like some invisible block of ice dripping uncertainty onto the hardwood surface. People were confused, rattled by the name even. They give me this “huh?” look. I put the blog’s address on paper and the writers still looked at me strangely.

Then it hit me. This is supposed to be my writing blog – my adventures in writing my novel, submission woes, and publishing craziness (perhaps even self-publishing, but you didn’t read that here!). My point being, it’s supposed to be a more “professional” blog, if you will. Yet the name Snowed in Scribe has nothing to do with my actual name – it’s more a declaration of place than anything. That got me thinking, all of my other “professional” things (linked in, twitter -yes I have a twitter now! -, gmail accounts) all have my name on it, my personal name – Kellie Doherty – and then, all of a sudden, I have a random blog named Snowed in Scribe?

The solution – change the name. And perhaps the design, as well, I’m getting rather annoyed with this off-center header and links on the bottom feel.

And you know what’s crazy? I’m kind-of sad about it, I like Snowed in Scribe, I like the wintery design (mostly, the header bothers me) but really it seems a bit childish to me right now. A bit too young. Perhaps its the freezing snow outside that’s annoying the heck out of me or perhaps its the gnawing critic in the back of my mind shouting that I should never ever change anything because if I do it’ll still be imperfect. Or perhaps it’s just me freaking out slightly because I turned 23 last week. Honestly, I dunno. I just know that this blog isn’t want I need it to be, isn’t what I want it to look like anymore.

So, by Friday, this blog will have a new name (probably Kellie Doherty, with some twist to it) and most-likely a new design as well. Just a revamp, a change of atmosphere to suit my needs and I wanted to give you, my followers, a heads-up so you don’t think someone hacked the account and messed with my stuff.

Check back on Friday for my new look!
Warm regards,
Kellie

6 thoughts on “Time to Revamp (Another Random Wednesday Post)

  1. Oh ho, consorting with the enemy, hm? Nah, I’m just teasing. You’ll have to tell us about it at Wednesday’s meeting.

    • Indeed I am! Enemy of the heir beware! (I had to throw that in.) No worries, I’ll tell you all about it so the group has nothing to fear about me switching ranks.

  2. Good to know. I’m excited to see what people think of my short story submission. I hope you’ve been enjoying the longer novel piece. If not, good, I rewrote most of it by now : P My muse has been generous. I’m just looking for responses about the characters at this point for the longer piece. The short story I’m concerned doesn’t have a strong ending.

    • I’m going to start reading the both tomorrow. Yes, I’ve been neglecting my duties as a critic by working on my own outline/novel, but tomorrow I shall work on reading the new submissions from everyone else! I must – must – keep up to date on these things. I’ll keep your comments in mind while I read through them. Now that I think about it, I’m also going to be submitting some things to various contests (ADN and RAW especially). I need to stop working so much on my novel (and playing video games) and edit/create some submission items.

  3. Oh yeah, RAW! I gotta go check their submission deadlines. I’d be happy to critique or brainstorm with you. I have nothing to send to them : ( Need ideas!

Leave a Reply

