Finding Time to Write

Time, the all-encompassing, never-ceasing, till-death-do-us-part, master of us all, is a sly sly fellow. I picture him wearing a swirling white ensemble, cape included and trimmed in black, of course, and a pair of highly fashionable boots. He’d be holding a golden pocket-watch that ticked rather too loudly for its size in one hand and a sensible feather pen in the other (with which to ink “no going back” on the nearest passerby).

At first I thought I had plenty of it, seconds, minutes, hours, days, weeks, months, so much time I got bored of having so much. But then I got a job, an actual full-time job at a local engineering firm and all of a sudden, Time snatched the hours away like a kid in a candy shop.

Today is Friday and, with a quick look back at my week, I realized I haven’t written a thing. I’ve edited a chapter, yes, I’ve tried to brainstorm for my novella a bit but I actually writing? Not really. Look at this post, it’s only just getting out to the blogosphere and it’s already 10:30pm.

And why is that?

Because, with my new job taking over a large chunk of my day, I cannot manage my time properly yet. Work takes over, exercise gobbles up my time, and hours just slip away.

So what do we do when work takes over, when chores fill up your day, when life seems too busy and writing falls by the wayside?

I make lists. To Do lists, actually. Every evening before bed I write one up, usually it has a “Brush Raven” or a “Exercise” penned on it, other chores I have to get done throughout the day, but lately I’ve been putting “Write Chapter” or “Write RAW submission” directly on the top. It’s so I remember to block out time to get my writing done. It’s not a chore, but it is my responsibility to hone my writing skills.

I find that I have to make time to write or, sadly, I don’t write much. So I put it on top of my To Do list, I underline the words, I consciously block out some time sit down and write.

So what do you do? Comments, ideas, snide remarks? I look forward to them all.

Warm regards,
Kellie

8 thoughts on “Finding Time to Write

  1. Yep I struggle with finding the time as well. By the time I get home after work and prepare dinner etc I’m usually too tired to write. I just want to crawl into bed. So I try and plan easy meals so I can fit in an hour or two of writing straight after work 🙂 Oh and on weekends I make myself not worry so much about housework and just write.

    • Thanks for the comment! I get tired after work too, which is strange because most of my job is done sitting down at a desk. An hour or two right after work, that’s a good idea! I tend to do all of my chores right after I get home, brushing my cat, eating dinner, exercising, making phone calls that sort of thing, but it’s wonderful that you can fit writing in straight after work! Weekends are when I get the bulk of my writing done too – eat a nice breakfast, have a good cup of tea, then go into my writing mode. 🙂 What sort of things do you write, theyearofwonderfulweekends?

  2. I’m not sure how I make time, but I do. I don’t have a family that takes away from writing and my teaching isn’t demanding enough that it encroaches on my writing either. I think I also use writing to escape life for a while. I participate in a lot of writing challenges with writing friend to help force myself to write more as well.

    So, general determination and purposeful departure from my real life responsibilities? That doesn’t sound good.

    • Thanks for the comment! I love that idea, ‘general determination and purposeful departure from your real life responsibilities’ it’s a wonderful thought. Real life can wait a bit while we write and, I think, sometimes that’s okay. It’s also a great idea to join in on writing challenges – I’ll have to suggest that to some of my writing buddies! What sort of genre do you write in?

  3. I write fiction. I guess publishers would call it women’s fiction (not chick-lit, although I have nothing against that genre :-)) I’ve written a book Charlie and Pearl which I uploaded onto the Harper Collins Authonomy website last July. It got its medal in December so I will get a review soon from an editor. Hopefully it will give me some tips to fine tune it and then I will most likely self-publish it this year. I’ve started writing another book but it’s early days, I have no idea where the story is going at this stage. I just follow where it takes me! My name is Tammy by the way. What sort of genre do you write?

    • Wow, Tammy, that’s amazing! Congrats on getting the medal. I hope the review is good and the comments help you on your way to self-publishing! 🙂 How’d you hear about uploading it to Harper Collins?

      I write mostly sci-fi and fantasy, my novel is going to be a lesbian fic and my novella will probably be as well. My novella is in it’s beginning stage, like you I haven’t the foggiest idea of where it’s going, but my novel has about 13 chapters done (over 100 pages). 🙂

Leave a Reply

