The End is Really Another Beginning

I did it!

I finally completed the goal that I’ve been striving for since I was thirteen. I wrote a novel. (Okay, so truthfully there were two parts to that goal – write a novel and then publish it – so I’ve completed only one aspect but the publishing part will come later. Carrying on…) A year and a half after the main character entered my mind, I finally got to pen ‘The End’ in italics in brackets centered on the page. Overkill? Perhaps. But I was happy to do such extravagant writing to prove my point.

However, after penning The End (and celebrating with a cutting edge facebook and twitter update) I realized that this is not the end at all. I still have a ton of work to do on this project.

Editing, of course.
Revising, of course.
Editing (again).
Revising (again).

Adding aspects I’ve neglected, taking out sections I disliked, clarifying ideas, rounding out characters. Musing about the next book in the series. Essentially I’m going to be re-writing this novel to be the best that it can possibly be. I’ve got a good foundation to work with, now it’s just tweaking the writing a bit.

Then after the novel is perfect – or I’m tired of looking at it, haha – there’s the query letters that have to be written and combed through, the manuscript samples to be sent out, the agents to query and publishers to scope. I’ve had multiple writers tell me that writing the story is the fun part and I’m really starting to believe it. This process, it’s going to take time and effort and even more time but I’m glad that the first step to making my dream come true is complete.

I’m looking forward to traversing the choppy waters that make up the publishing world. Now if in a few months I end up ranting about it, you have my permission to smack me and remind me of this posting.

Until then…
Warm regards,
Kellie

2 thoughts on “The End is Really Another Beginning

Leave a Reply

