An Odd Quandary

So I’ve come to a dilemma. A crossroads. A quandary, if you will.

I have too many things I’d like to write.

I know, I know! Talk about your first-world problems, right? As if having too many stories to tell is a bad thing, as if having too many characters conversing in my mind is unfortunate, as if the plotlines are gathering dust in their disuse.

And yet, somehow, someway, it is and they are. I’m not actively spending time with every one of my stories and, so, I feel them drifting – no, not drifting, fading would be a better term – fading away almost. And I don’t know how to stop it. (Well, I do know, but it seems tricky to me. Continue on…)

For example, in this moment of time I am trying to focus on finishing my biopunk NaNoWriMo novel – at 53,000 words in I’m about 3/4ths the way done. I have to admit, at the end of the NaNo event I kind of fell off writing for a week or so, I didn’t write much at all actually. I’m back on now, with a goal of writing at least 1,000 words per day. It’s a lot of work and I enjoy doing it, and you’d think my muse would understand that I only want to focus on this one thing.

She doesn’t.

No, instead of only thinking about gears, wiring, and splicing DNA, I’m coming up with ideas for character flaws in my fantasy novella series. I continuously have a hankering to write in the sci-fi universe I created. I have random images for a fictionpress poem. I even have some ideas to spice up old fanfiction pieces. This is not biopunk. This is not my NaNo Novel. Why do I have these ideas springing into my head?

And it’s not like I’m… complaining per say. I like that I have these ideas. I always try to jot them down. I like that my creativity is taking this leap forward.

But sometimes… sometimes I feel like if I don’t write in my other stories I’ll somehow loose them. Like they won’t be as focused in my mind’s eye. Like the characters won’t be as bright as I know they are now.

And I know what the solution is: take some time for each story. Delegate a day each week to one specific idea – my sci-fi novel, the novella series, fictionpress or fanfiction – and just stick to it. It seems simple.

Here’s the kicker, though, I’ve never written in multiple stories at once. I don’t really want to try it, either, honestly. I prefer to finish this NaNoNovel before jumping into a different world. Yet it seems like that’s what I should do. And so, I think… perhaps… I’ll try. I think it would be best to start with little things – poetry for my fictionpress, some fluff fanfiction maybe – and see how that goes. If it works then I can write in my sci-fi universe and the novella series AND my NaNo Novel all at once.

Having never done this before, though, I have to ask… Has anyone actually done this before? Is it hard? What kind of suggestions would you have for a multi-universe writer?

Anything would be helpful at this point so if you have any ideas, throw them my way!

Enjoy the weekend… let’s hope for snow, eh?
Warmest regards,
Kellie

4 thoughts on “An Odd Quandary

  1. Well, I don’t think leaving a novel to sitis necessarily a bad thing, actually. Done right, it can be like aging cheese or wine: better for the story. The contents may not be exactly the same when you return to it, but there’s still a lot of hope for that story. I mean, look at my many, vastly scattered projects. I get back to them all eventually. It just takes a little time to work through all of them, and sometimes the outcome changes because I let that story sit for so long. I try to adopt the philosophy of letting my muse do what it wants and I will figure out the rest. Does that make any sense?

    • Thanks for the comment, friend! Yes, it does make sense! That’s what I originally thought as well, that letting a novel sit isn’t bad. And you’re right, it does make sense that the story would change over time, after all, we do as well, so it stands to reason what we write changes with us. Right now, I think I need to try this multi-universe writing and see how it fairs. After all, if I don’t like it, I can always stop and concentrate on one story.

Leave a Reply

