Because I neglected to post last week and…

work went crazy and I’m still a little miffed (even though I was AWESOME and calm)… here’s a poem.

 

Really?

I would really like it if
People would stop leaving coffee grounds in the kitchen
On the counter
On the table
On the freakin’ floor
Haven’t you learned to clear up after yourself? 

I would really like it if
People would change the toilet paper rolls
When they know it needs to be changed
Because it needs to be changed
Because we’re civil like that
And who wants to be sitting on the throne without a tissue? 

And I would especially like it if
People wouldn’t wait until the last possible second to get stuff done
And then want to change things in the midst of it all
And then change it back
And then add more text into the already massive document
Didn’t you just say no one would read it that carefully anyway? 

I would also like it if
People would stop messing with things that are already finished
Or harping about things that are done but are ‘handled’
No one will see that tiny fingerprint on the corner of the presentation cover
Or honestly mind that it’s there
Are you afraid they’ll disqualify you over a smudge (or your work)?

But mostly, honestly, truly,
I would really like it if
We all just celebrated the fact that today is Friday
And we’re done with the draft
And it snowed outside
And I plan on going sledding this weekend
Among other (exciting) things
Can’t we all just have some fun?

Have a wonderful winter weekend everyone.

Warm regards,
Kellie

4 thoughts on “Because I neglected to post last week and…

  1. I dig the poem! Le sigh, co-workers….but expression in poem form is probably a health way to let it out 🙂 So keep ’em coming! Happy Friday!!!

  2. Hi Kellie,

    I agree the world would be a great place if it adjusted itself in the way we would like it to.
    But what is it that upsets us when things work out differently to what we want? Is it something to do with us or the other folks?

    Shakti

    • Hello Shakti,

      thanks for the comment! You’re right, it would be better if the world righted itself accordingly, but unfortunately it has to do with the other folks this time around. However, it is my job to adjust how I react to these circumstances, I can’t change how other people react but I can alter how I do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

