Quiet – And Perfect – Day (Why am I not inspired?)

Today is the day after 4th of July. It’s a Friday and most of my co-workers took the day off. (Any sane person would since who’d want to go to work on a Friday after a Thursday holiday anyway? Christmas, this year, will be interesting…) So, understandably, thus far today’s been a very very quiet day.

I’ve done all the usual things:
– morning duties
– hunt for articles (I think the reporters took the day off too, where’s all the interesting news?)
– check the plants
– straighten the bosses box (it gets messy when he’s away)
– filed the one document in the ToBeFiled box

And even some non-work stuff:
– Cirque (emailing newspaper editors and authors, updating Facebook)
– work on blogpost (would this be considered metablogging?)
– queried a new agent – Jessica Negron of the Talcott Notch Literary Services, LLC

Of course I’m still doing the usual receptionist/admin assistant duties of answering the phones, greeting people that come in and making copies for co-workers who need them but it’s been quite the quiet day. It’s the perfect day for writing actually, not many distractions, not much work-work to do, and yet I can’t seem to get the inspiration to write today. I know what I should be writing. I have the end of my 2nd installment planned out in full. I want to write that book, tie up the loose ends, round out the characters and finish the story. Today would be the perfect day to continue working on Chapter 17 (500 words in thus far). 

But I can’t seem to get the motivation to do so… 

So, I’ve come up with a solution. I’ve got some stories to read and comment on – a few from my Jitters group and one from my UAA group – and I hope the reading and commenting process will motivate me to work on my own writing. 

If that doesn’t work, I’ve got this handy picture waiting on my desktop:

Image

 

 

So yes, today’s a quiet day. I will write. Today’s the perfect day for it.

Have a happy holiday weekend!
Warm regards,
Kellie

Leave a Reply

