What’s in a Name?

Everything, apparently.

So much so I’m finished with the second installment of my duology (the first draft at least), but I cannot for the life of me come up with a title for it. What if I pick the wrong one? What if it doesn’t suit the novel? What if it’s totally bizarre? (Some of my writer friends can attest to some of my… odder of choices.)

And I’m agonizing over it!

So my question to all of you… how do you decide on a name?

Warm regards,
Kellie

Post Script – And, on a completely unrelated note, I completed the Sledgehammer Writing Contest last week (36 hours, 6 prompts, 1 story) and readers get a say in who wins – everyone gets three votes! Check out mine, “A Chance Encounter”, and vote for me if you like it! Go to this website: http://sledgehammercontest.com/.

2 thoughts on “What’s in a Name?

  1. I usually wait until the end if I can’t come up with something. I have several docs that read “Untitled for now” as the header with something like “space story 4” as their tagline. If a title still doesn’t come to me at the end of the work, I usually go through and reread it, looking for something significant I missed before.

    • Thanks for the comment, Michelle! That’s a very good idea – I want to re-read the work anyway so this’ll give me another reason why! Thus far it’s just titled “Mia.2.0” Ha! Unoriginal, but at least I understand what the document relates to…

Leave a Reply

