Managing Time

Sorry I’ve been missing in action these past few weeks, I’ve been rather busy with work, school and volunteering (turns out having a full time job, a freelance editing business, interning at a magazine and taking a class all at the same time is quite a heavy load). Since my class ended two weeks ago – I’m an official The Keys to Effective Editing certificate holder, thank you very much! – and I’m just about done applying to graduate school – only one more to go! – I’ve been able to relax a bit. Although now that I’m house-sitting for my folks who are on vacation and work’s thrown a new twist into my routine, my ‘relaxation time’ may need to be rearranged just a bit.

As some of you may know, this month is National Novel Writing Month but unfortunately due to the crazy schedule I previously mentioned, I decided not to foray into that particular dark forest of frantic typing, plot holes and late nights. I just don’t have enough time to dedicate to that cause right now, not if I want to stay sane. I completed it last year – 50,000 words in one month – and had a blast doing it. Perhaps I can compete in the 2015 NaNoWriMo event.

It’s been a busy time of year and will only get busier as the holiday season draws closer. People I know often wonder how I have time to do everything and my answer’s always the same.

Time management.

I try to devote an hour for each project – except for my full-time job, which usually takes longer – and then move on to the next task. Doing so saves me from getting bored or frustrated with a certain project. Another quirk with me is I have to write everything down in order to get it done – my ToDo list is taped to my ever-present water bottle. The great thing with writing it down is I can cross stuff off. Finished editing a chapter in client’s work? Cross off. Vendor invoice filing? Cross off. Silly as it sounds, it makes me feel like actually got stuff done that day.

Now my way won’t work for everyone. Some people need to take longer to work on a specific project and that’s okay, as long as you take breaks from time to time – stretch, walk around for a little bit, look away from the computer screen – and schedule some down time for yourself as well. Down time is critical to staying sane. Whether it’s watching TV, playing video games, chatting with friends or drinking a cup of tea away from your usual desk, you need time for yourself.

I do all of the above to wind down. I exercise, too, go to the gym or do yoga at home. Even just a walk can energize and re-focus your mind.

What are some of your tricks to time management? What things do you do to re-focus your mind?

Speaking of which, it’s time for me to get off the computer and stretch for a bit.
Have a lovely weekend!
Warm regards, Kellie

Leave a Reply

