On Finding An Apartment

[or]

A Day By Day Of This Past Week

This past week has been a whirlwind of crazy. Saturday I had a wedding, Sunday, a surprise party, and Monday and Tuesday I packed up my life (so many boxes and piles of stuff). I flew to Portland with my Mom Tuesday evening to start the adventure that is “Finding An Apartment.” Here’s how it went…

Wednesday – I was stupid tired since we flew all night (and had a long layover), but we had breakfast at Subways and seemed good to go for a while. We looked around the school for a bit, then scurried off to the first of the two apartment tours. The First Apartment was pretty, very close to school, but very expensive. We went to the Second Apartment tour after lunch but that was also way past my budget, and a bit further away that I originally expected. I took notes anyway. We got to the hotel room, skipped dinner, and I fell asleep early.

Thursday – I compiled notes into spreadsheet – yes, people, I MADE A SPREADSHEET! – then went to two more apartment tours. The Third Apartment was originally a studio, but then a one-bedroom opened up so we looked at that one. I really liked it, fifth floor, less expensive than others, good location. I applied to it, a process that was much more stressful than it had to be since I couldn’t remember one of my online passwords. (I never use the online version, don’t judge!) Anyway, I applied. The Fourth Apartment was far away but it was off the market anyway. We had dinner, went back to the hotel, and took a swim.

Friday – I went to the Fifth (and Last) Apartment tour. It had a lot of character and old-time class, but wasn’t the right fit for me. I decided to go for the Third Apartment and we celebrated the decision by getting bagels and wandering around a bit. We got back to the hotel, and I was on the computer for pretty much the rest of the night. Scheduling a walkthrough for Saturday, going over little things, telling the other Apartments no, crossing other things off my ToDo list.

Saturday – I woke up at a decent time, went over the lease – Who writes those anyway? – and went to the walkthrough. Some things fell through, but I was able to look at the apartment and got some questions answered. I made another appointment with the leasing agent on Monday, hopefully everything’ll be answered then and taken care of by Wednesday because that’s my official “Move-In” date. Also – I decided that tomorrow we’re going to look at furniture so I can start furnishing the place. We went for a swim and called it a night.

Overall, it’s been crazy. I’m happy that I’ve found a place, but it’s been tiring, too. Comparing all the little details and trying to make the best decision is mind-boggling.

But I did it!

And I hope the next part of the process – going over the final steps of the lease and move-in – is a little bit easier. Granted moving in the furniture won’t be very easy, but I think picking out the stuff and getting to really customize my new apartment will be exciting.

Overall, it’s been a busy week, but a productive one, too.

Warm regards,
Kellie

4 thoughts on “On Finding An Apartment

  1. No doubt about it, apartment hunting is stressful. I used to have fun with it; when the leasing agent would ask if I had any pets, I’d say something like, “A panther. Don’t worry, he’s neutered.” Their reactions were priceless. Welcome to the Rose City!

    • Thanks for the comment and the welcome! Apartment hunting was an intense experience, but a good one, too. A panther? HA! That would’ve been good. How long have you lived in Portland? Any places I can’t miss?

      • 20 years in November! And I absolutely love it. (I actually live in Vancouver WA, but am forever going into PDX). If you are into live music, we have a great scene here – I highly recommend the Doug Fir Lounge or Mississippi Studios. You’ve GOT to check out the food carts (any of them). Hawthorne Blvd. if you’re into vintage stores, record shops, etc. Mount Tabor for some great views and quiet. I could go on and on, but I’ll spare you for now!

      • Wow, great suggestions, thanks! I just had some great food truck food yesterday, actually. I’m excited to see what this city has in store for me.

Leave a Reply

