Hey, I’m Not Dead!

For all of you who were worried, I haven’t died in some writer’s block coma. I became a Book Publishing graduate student at Portland State University, which takes up an immense amount of time.

Now, it’s not a shock that it takes up a lot of my time. I knew it would. Everyone said so. But it was a rough transition between going to work full time at an 8-5 job to going to classes and having to do heaps of homework every night. I didn’t really know how to juggle all the assignments the first few weeks of class.

The classes are interesting, though, and I feel like I’m learning quite a bit.

Introduction to Book Publishing is pretty intense, with the papers, readings, and presentations, but right now we’re working on a group project for our final. We get to create a mock publishing company, publish two frontline books from our fellow classmates, invent backlist titles (covers included), and craft marketing plans, among other things. It’s a combination presentation and portfolio final, and, while it’s proven to be quite time-consuming, it’s been fun, too.

For my Publishing Software class, we’ve just started InDesign. There’s quite a bit to learn on it, but it’s been… interesting trying to figure out how to do typesetting and such. The first few weeks of class we did Illustrator and Photoshop. Illustrator has been the most fun thus far. I kind-of knew how to create random designs, so it was the easiest to visualize. Photoshop was a pain, but intriguing when it worked out properly. (Clipping paths are awesome.) I’ll put up some of my projects next weekend if I remember.

For the Ooligan Press Publishing Lab, I’m in the Write to Publish team. It’s an annual writing/publishing conference held at the here at PSU. This term it’ll be on January 31, 2015 at Smith Memorial Student Union. We’ve been doing a ton of marketing for the conference and getting the copy ready for the website. Yesterday we met at a local bar and had a Beer and Button Party, which was awesome. I helped make buttons! Anyway, if you’re going to be in Portland at the end of January, you should definitely buy a ticket and join the fun!

So my classwork (along with my freelance editing and general life stuff like grocery shopping, sleeping, tending to my pets and trying to remember to eat) has taken up all of my time. When I’m not doing homework or editing, I tend to go for walks, read, or watch something funny on Netflix. I’ve also written a little bit, just one new chapter. As you’ve probably noticed, I haven’t, however, updated this blog and it occurred to me that I should schedule it into my weekend ToDo.

Anyway, that’s just an update on life and school. I’ll blog about more writing/publishing centered posts starting next weekend. After all, I know more about it now since I am a grad student in the field. (Which I still get chills thinking. *does a happy dance*)

Warmest regards,
Kellie

Leave a Reply

