I’M DONE WITH FINALS

*phew*

Okay, now that we got that out of the way, I’d like to talk about publishing.

But, really, I’d like to talk about marketing. (Which is a part of publishing.)

Why?

Because something great happened with Ooligan Press’s last novel Forgive Me If I’ve Told You This Before. Tegan and Sarah picked up the book and promoted it on their Instagram. Now, apparently, Tegan and Sarah are a popular singing duo, but I’ve admittedly never heard of them before this happened.

But because of them, the book did very well. The simple Instagram post skyrocketed our book into the eyes of all their followers. Their statement of re-reading the book on a beach made others look at the book, take interest of the book, and actually buy the book, too.

Why?

Because they created a buzz around the product. And they have a reach that far surpasses our own humble one. They have 4.9k followers on their Instagram alone, not to mention all the other non-Instagram folks. Plus, they are a supporter of the LGBTQIA movement, too, which helps push the book into that section of the world, the section that Forgive Me rightfully wants to inhabit, since the book is of a LGBTQIA nature.

Granted there were other marketing aspects that Ooilgan Press employed for Forgive Me, but that one marketing push for Tegan and Sarah helped Ooligan Press immensely. The book has done very well. It’s a good story, too, so I’m happy it’s getting popular.

I bring this up because 1) it’s exciting and 2) it shows the power of marketing, the power of creating a buzz and getting people talking about something (in this case a book).

I also bring this up because 3) it shocked me. Not that the book did well, it’s a good read. Or that the marketing plans worked, because we’ve done successful marketing at Ooligan Press before. What shocked me is how effective that one simple Instagram post was, how much it did for the book.

And why?

Because this duo is famous. They have a following, a loyal fan-base who trusts their judgment.

It’s what we call the Oprah affect.

I read about it in my book and we talked about it briefly in our Intro class, but I didn’t expect to see it in-person so soon into the publishing program.

It showed me powerful marketing can be, how important marketing is for a book. Or for any product!

Lets hope we can recreate this kind of buzz for our next book, too.

Now, I’m off to have a glass of wine to celebrate the end of my first term as a grad student.
Warm regards,
Kellie

Leave a Reply

