Blogging: Achievement Unlocked

BloggerAward

I’m so pleased that blogger Sarah nominated me for The Blogger Recognition Award. This is a pretty awesome award, and I’m so happy to be part of a community that celebrates each other so thoughtfully! Sarah has an awesome blog dedicated to discussing all things related to reading, writing, and publishing. She also created a writing service called To Publish Or Not, which gives free advice to writers about story ideas. She’s pretty awesome, so go check her stuff out!

Rules for The Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Select fifteen other blogs you want to give the award to
  2. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you
  3. Write a post to show your award
  4. Give a brief story of how your blog started
  5. Give a piece of advice or two to new bloggers
  6. Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  7. Attach the award to the post (right-click and save, then upload)
  8. Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them
  9. Provide a link to the award post you created

Pretty simple, right?

How This Blog Came To Be

Well, originally this blog was just a personal collection of stories from my day-to-day life. Longterm followers will remember the blog changing not once but twice throughout it’s little lifetime (this used to be Finding My Voice and then it was Snowed In Scribe). I finally settled on Have Pen, Will Pen, because I finally narrowed down what I wanted to talk about: writing, publishing, editing, and the advice that goes along with it, though I still do occasionally post about life (because who doesn’t right?). I wanted this blog to be a place where writers and editors could come and learn about the (somewhat daunting) world of book publishing. I also wanted to convey the struggles that go along with being a writer and the ups and downs of being an editor. I figured sharing what it was like to have a foot in both those doors and giving advice to help writers navigate those tricky waters would help.

Over the last year, I have gained a new respect for the publishing world, as I’m currently starting my second year as a graduate student in PSU’s Book Publishing program. It’s been an intense ride and working at Ooligan Press has given me new insight that I’d like to share with the world. I’ve also gained a new respect for the writing side of publishing, since I’ve been picked up by Desert Palm Press for my first novel. I’m looking forward to sharing what I learn by going through the process as an author, too!


Advice to New Bloggers

  • Write about something you love. If you love it and are passionate about it, that will shine through in your blogposts. Plus, it’ll give you the opportunity to explore that love and will help you continue to post in a regular fashion.
  • Comment on things you love. If a blogger posted something absolutely amazing, comment on it, like it, reblog it even! The original blogger would be thrilled, and you have a better chance of making connections and building an awesome community of friends by doing so.


Here are my nominations!
(I hope you guys take the torch and pass it on!)

Michelle Magly

Word Nerds Unite

Molly K.B. Hunt

Erika Schnatz

Writer Girl, Lately

Live to Write, Write to Live

zumpoems

Kristin McFarland

Bottled Up Sentiments

A Glimpse of Starlight

Scarring Words

Girls Gone Geek

Grad Mouse

Grace’s Wanderings

Stephanie Flint

Keep writing!

Warm regards,
Kellie

2 thoughts on “Blogging: Achievement Unlocked

Leave a Reply

