Book Giveaway Brainstorming Day

So, I want to do a book giveaway. Last week a box of Finding Hekate books got shipped to me, ten total. Four of them are already claimed, so really there’s six. (I could always get more, though.) I left the box on my table where I can see it everyday, but it’s been a whole week and I haven’t figured out what kind of giveaway I’d like to do. (I’ve been working on my graduate thesis and trying really hard not to get sick, tbh.)

BUT I REALLY WANT TO DO A BOOK GIVEAWAY! AND WHO DOESN’T LOVE A FREE BOOK SIGNED BY THE AUTHOR?

IMG_3451
Look at all the books I can sign and give away!

To that end, I’ve decided that today is my Giveaway Brainstorming Day. Here’s what I’ve come up with thus far:

  • Fanart giveaway – where I give a character description/scene and give folks one (or two) weeks to complete it and pick the best one to get a free book
  • Newsletter giveaway – where someone at random from my newsletter subscribers gets a free book (if you want to join my newsletter, you can do so here! Burst go out on Saturdays!)
  • Social Media giveaway – where one of my followers on social media (on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, or Instagram) who likes/shares/comments on a specific post about my book gets a free book
  • Blogpost giveaway – where I give a book to a follower on here who answers a specific question I post on this blog in the comment section

I’d like to come up with a few more and then pick the ones I like best.

To that end, my fellow authors, bloggers, and readers, I ask you: What kinds of giveaways do you do for your books/merch or partake in as a fan? And, if they were contests (like the fanart), did you receive many submissions or submit your own work?

Please leave a comment. I’d love to get some more ideas!

I hope you have a lovely Friday!
Warm regards,
Kellie

10 thoughts on “Book Giveaway Brainstorming Day

      • Goodreads will advertise it on their site. I also tweet, FB, and blog about it — they make those really easy to do from GR. Email me at morbid at charnel dot com is you have questions. Also wondering: do I have a shot at winning a copy of your book? 🙂

      • Thanks for the info! I’ll certainly check it out. Yes, you do have a chance, as I do think I’ll do a blogpost giveaway. All of my followers would have a chance to win it once they answer a specific question (that I have yet to come up with) on my blog.

  1. As a fan, I tend to participate in giveaways that require relatively little effort (sharing, commenting, etc.). I just don’t have time for big things; it’d have to a big prize or something I already *really* liked for me to make that kind of contest a priority.

    • Thanks for the comment! Hmmm, interesting! I’ll keep that in mind concerning the fanart idea, I don’t want people being turned off about the idea if the prize isn’t big enough. Maybe I could add more things to that contest, like a bookmark and a sneak peek at my next book? Would that cause you to want to participate more?

      • Ooh, the sneak peek would certainly feel like a special prize. Probably not enough to overcome the laziness factor for everyone, but it would be enough to make me consider putting more work into an entry.

      • Haha, thanks for the honesty! Since that does require more work I can see how the prize has to be bigger than the others, too. Thanks so much for the brainstorm! This really helped.

  2. I’m personally bot into fanart but I have responded to writing prompts! I especially enjoy imagery writing promots where you describe what’s occuring in the photo. How exciting for you! Congrats on the book!

Leave a Reply

